Duel 2 – Can politics save the world?

Duel #2

Can politics save the world?

Duel

The Grand Théâtre de Genève is organising its second Duel, with citizen and political participation as its theme, on 21 January at 8 pm, in partnership with the FIFDH. At a time of climate mobilisations, women’s strikes, the last federal elections and movements around the world, the PLR National Councillor Christian Lüscher and the Director of SOS Méditerranée (Switzerland) Caroline Abu Sa’da will confront their point of view on politics and its (possible) capacity to save the world.

Organized in partnership with the International Film Festival and Forum on Human Rights (FIFDH), Duel #2 will question commitment and its role for the planet. General interest vs. private interests, ethics of conviction vs. ethics of responsibility, institutional commitment vs. activism… the evening will allow for a confrontation of opinions among the guests, a mysterious robotic moderator and questions from the audience.

The Duel will be conducted in French.

The Guests

Director of SOS Méditerranée Suisse, Caroline Abu Sa’da is the editorial manager of the FIFDH Forum, she is a doctor of political science and an honorary lecturer at the Humanitarian and Conflict Response Institute (Manchester). She has also written numerous articles for scientific journals and five books, notably on humanitarian action. Caroline Abu Sa’da has been Head of Mission in various countries in the Middle East for MSF Switzerland, Oxfam UK and the United Nations.

Christian Lüscher has been a national councillor of the liberal-radical party since 2007. He was a member of the Grand Council 2001-2007, Troinex City Council 1999-2003. In Bern, he sits on the Judicial, Pardons, Legal Affairs and Economics and Tax Commissions. His smartspider profile indicates a particular focus on a liberal economy, the importance of order and security and a commitment to openness towards foreign countries.

Can politics (really) save the world?
21 January 2020 — 8PM
Entrance CHF 15.-
GTG –  Grande scène

Next duels

duel #3
Can Religion save the World?
05 March 2020 — 8PM
GTG & Musée international de la Réforme (MIR)

duel #4
Can Art save the World?
25 June 2020 — 8PM
GTG & MAMCO

The new waves are sponsored by

#WeArtGTG

All the GTG world. Here, there, everywhere.

Stay connected with the GTG

Duel 2 – Le politique peut-il sauver le monde

Duel #2

Le politique peut-il sauver le monde ?

Duel

Le Grand Théâtre de Genève organise son second Duel, avec la participation citoyenne et politique pour thème, le 21 janvier à 20h, en partenariat avec le FIFDH. À l’heure des mobilisations sur le climat, de la grève des femmes, des dernières élections fédérales et des mouvements dans le monde, le Conseiller national PLR Christian Lüscher et la Directrice de SOS Méditerranée (Suisse) Caroline Abu Sa’da confronteront leur point de vue sur la politique et sa capacité (éventuelle) à sauver le monde.

Organisé en partenariat avec le Festival du film et forum international sur les Droits humains (FIFDH), le Duel #2 interrogera l’engagement et son rôle pour la planète. Intérêt général vs intérêts privés, éthique de conviction vs éthique de responsabilités, engagement institutionnel vs militant… la soirée permettra de confronter les avis entre les invités, un mystérieux modérateur robotique et les questions du public.

Le Duel se déroulera en langue française.

Les invités

Directrice de SOS Méditerranée Suisse, Caroline Abu Sa’da est responsable éditoriale du Forum du FIFDH, elle est docteure en sciences politiques, Maître de conférences honoraire au Humanitarian and Conflict Response Institue (Manchester). Elle a aussi rédigé de nombreux articles pour des revues scientifiques et cinq livres, sur l’action humanitaire notamment. Caroline Abu Sa’da a été cheffe de mission dans différents pays du Moyen-Orient pour MSF Suisse, Oxfam UK et les Nations Unies.

Conseiller national du parti libéral-radical depuis 2007, Christian Lüscher a été député au Grand Conseil 2001-2007, Conseil municipal de Troinex 1999-2003. À Berne, il siège dans les commissions judiciaire, grâces, affaires juridiques et économie et redevance. Son profil smartspider indique une attention particulière pour une économie libérale, l’importance accordée à l’ordre et la sécurité et un attachement à l’ouverture vers l’étranger.

Le politique peut-il sauver le monde ?
21 janvier 2020 — 20h
Entrée CHF 15.-
Grande scène du GTG

Prochains duels

duel #3
La religion peut-elle sauver le monde ?
05 mars 2020 — 20h
GTG & Musée international de la Réforme (MIR)

duel #4
L’Art peut-il sauver le monde ?
25 juin 2020 — 20h
GTG & MAMCO

En soutien des nouvelles vagues :

#WeArtGTG

Tout l’univers du GTG. Ici, là, partout.

Restez connecté avec le GTG