Stéphane Degout – Baritone

Stephane Degout © Jean-Baptiste_Millot

Stéphane Degout

CANCELLED

Dear audience,

Following federal and cantonal directives relating to the fight against the spread of the Covid-19 virus, and in the impossibility of postponing the date, the Grand Théâtre de Genève is obliged to cancel Stéphane Degout’s recital on June 7, 2020.

Our season subscribers and ticket holders for this event will be contacted by email.

More infos

Stephane Degout © Jean-Baptiste_Millot
«Nous, interprètes, devons aller vers cette pureté mélodique et ce respect du mot, de la phrase»

Stéphane Degout, France Culture

Infos

Programm

About

Infos

Stéphane Degout, baryton
Simon Lepper, pianist

Recital on musics by Gabriel Fauré, Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky and Robert Schumann

 

Sponsored by

FONDATION VRM

Programm

Gabriel Fauré (1845-1924)
La bonne chanson (Paul Verlaine 1844-1896) op 61, 1892

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840-1893)
Ночи безумные, ночи бессонные (Nuit de folie, nuit blanche)
(Aleksey Apukhtin 1840-1893) op 60/6 1880

Средь шумного бала (Au milieu d’un bal bruyant)
(Aleksey Konstantinovich Tolstoy 1817-1875) op 38/3 1878

Слеза дрожит (Une larme tremble)
(Aleksey Konstantinovich Tolstoy 1817-1875) op 6/4 1869

Мой гений, мой ангел, мой друг (Mon génie, mon ange, mon ami)
(Afanasy Fet 1820-1892) 1859

Отчего побледнела весной ? (Pourquoi les roses sont-elles si pâles ?)
Lev Mey (1822-1862) based on Heinrich Heine op 6/5 1869

– Intermission –

Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
Dichterliebe (Heinrich Heine 1797-1856) op 48 1840

About

A graduate of the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique de Lyon and member of the Atelier Lyrique de l’Opéra de Lyon, Stéphane Degout quickly came to international attention in his debut as Papageno at the Festival d’Aix-en-Provence. Since then, he has appeared on the world’s major operatic stages in the principal roles of the baryton-noble repertoire, such as Oreste (Iphigénie en Tauride) or Guglielmo (Cosi fan tutte), and the title roles in Thomas’ Hamlet, Monteverdi’s Orfeo and Ulisse. His natural affiliation with Claude Debussy’s Pelléas has proven him to be one of the leading interpreters of this role, which has not prevented Stéphane Degout from also taking on the other great male role of Pelléas et Mélisande, the older and tormented Golaud, in a very beautiful metaphoric reflection of his maturation as one of the greatest bass-baritone voices of our time.

His dedication to the art has seen him create numerous operatic roles in works such as The King in George Benjamin’s new production for the Royal Opera House Covent Garden Lessons in Love and Violence — a role which was written specifically for his voice. In 2012, Stéphane Degout was appointed Chevalier de l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres by the French Ministry of Culture in recognition of his significant contribution to the enrichment of French cultural heritage. The same year saw him named Lyrical Artist of the Year at the Victoires de la Musique Classique awards ceremony, an accolade which he also won in 2019.

As a recitalist, Stéphane Degout is renowned for his highly sensitive interpretations of French melody and German lieder. For his first ever appearance in Geneva, this French baritone par excellence has how- ever prepared a programme featuring something his fans are not used to hearing him sing: the Romantic Russian art song. Degout has often spoken of his wish to explore the Russian and Slavic repertoire and has been preparing roles that suit his baritonal maturity such as Prince Yeletsky in Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky’s Queen of Spades.

For his recital in Geneva, Stéphane Degout is in the eminent company of the English pianist Simon Lepper, who is the official accompanist for the prestigious BBC Cardiff Singer of the World Song Prize and professor of piano accompaniment at the Royal College of Music London.

#WeArtGTG

All the GTG world. Here, there, everywhere.

Stay connected with the GTG

Stéphane Degout

Stephane Degout © Jean-Baptiste_Millot

Stéphane Degout

Baryton
Prix:
De CHF 17.- à 119.-
dim 15 mars 20:00
Stephane Degout © Jean-Baptiste_Millot
«Nous, interprètes, devons aller vers cette pureté mélodique et ce respect du mot, de la phrase»

Stéphane Degout en interview pour France Culture
Infos pratiques
Présentation
Infos pratiques

Stéphane Degout, baryton
Simon Lepper, piano

Piotr Ilitch Tchaïkovski, Sergei Rachmaninoff et autres

 

Avec le soutien de

FONDATION VRM

Présentation

Diplômé du Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique de Lyon et membre de l’Atelier Lyrique de l’Opéra de Lyon, Stéphane Degout s’est très vite fait remarquer de manière internationale dès ses débuts lyriques par sa prestation dans le rôle de Papageno au Festival d’Aix-en-Provence. Il a brillé depuis sur toutes les grandes scènes d’opéra dans les principaux rôles du répertoire du baryton-noble, tels qu’Oreste (Iphigénie en Tauride) ou Guglielmo (Così fan tutte) et les rôles-titres de Hamlet d’Ambroise Thomas et de Orfeo et Ulisse de Claudio Monteverdi. Son affinité naturelle pour le Pelléas de Claude Debussy l’a révélé être l’un des interprètes les plus remarquables de ce rôle, ce qui n’a pas empêché Stéphane Degout d’assumer plus récemment l’autre grand personnage masculin de Pelléas et Mélisande, le roi Golaud, plus âgé et plus tourmenté, ce qui constitue une fort belle métaphore de la maturation de cet artiste en une des plus grandes voix de baryton-basse de notre époque.
Son dévouement pour l’art vocal l’a vu créer de nombreux rôles dans de nouvelles compositions, comme celui du Roi dans Lessons in Love and Violence, une commande de la Royal Opera House de Londres et que George Benjamin composa spécialement pour sa voix. En 2012, Stéphane Degout est nommé chevalier de l’ordre des Arts et des Lettres par le ministère de la culture français, pour son apport notable à l’enrichissement du patrimoine culturel de son pays. La même année, il reçoit le prix de l’Artiste lyrique de l’année aux Victoires de la musique classique, une distinction qu’il a reçue à nouveau en 2019.
En tant qu’artiste de récital, Stéphane Degout est connu pour ses interprétations d’une grande sensibilité des mélodies françaises et du lied allemand. Pour ses débuts à Genève, ce baryton français par excellence a cependant préparé un programme qui surprendra certainement ses nombreux fans, dédié à la mélodie romantique russe. Stéphane Degout a souvent parlé de son désir d’explorer le répertoire russo-slave et on sait qu’il se prépare à interpréter des rôles de ce dernier qui conviennent à la maturité nouvelle de sa voix. Comme celui du prince Yeletski dans La Dame de pique de Tchaïkovski.
Pour son récital au Grand Théâtre, Stéphane Degout sera en l’éminente compagnie du pianiste anglais Simon Lepper, accompagnateur officiel du prestigieux concours BBC Cardiff Singer of the World Song Prize et professeur d’accompagnement au Royal College of Music de Londres.

#WeArtGTG

Tout l’univers du GTG. Ici, là, partout.

Restez connecté avec le GTG