Nadine Sierra – Soprano

Nadine Sierra © GTG Merri Cyr

Nadine Sierra

Soprano
Price:
From CHF 17.- to 119.-
Mon 14 Oct 20:00
Nadine Sierra
«You Should Give Opera A Listen. It’s Different Than You May Think»

Nadine Sierra on WNPR
Infos
About
Infos

Nadine sierra, soprano
Vincenzo Scalera, pianist

Leonard Bernstein, George Gershwin, Cole Porter, Heitor Villa-Lobos and others

 

Sponsored by

FONDATION VRM

About

If you thought the recital season at the Grand Théâtre was going to begin with the prim romantic purring of a murmuration of marvellous melody, think again. We are very pleased to welcome our recital goers for the first time in the 2019-2020 season with a transatlantic bang, best summed up in Cunegonde’s mission statement: “Glitter and be gay!”

Two things that Nadine Sierra seems to do very well. The young Floridian soprano, trained under the pa- tronage of the great Marilyn Horne, has had quite the stellar ascent since her first opera role (Gluck’s Orfeo) at the Palm Springs Opera in 2011: in 2018, she shone as Susanna in The Marriage of Figaro at the Metropolitan Opera. In the time between, she also featured in many international song galas and piled up the prizes, of which the most distinguished is no doubt her Beverly Sills Artist Award, given by the Met in 2018. For her first album, which also came out in 2018 with Deutsche Grammophon, Nadine Sierra chose to display her talents in a less operatic and more Broadway way. There’s a Place for Us, with Robert Spano conducting the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, is the soprano’s declaration of love for the American repertoire, in the widest geographical sense of the term. Villa-Lobos’ evocations of the Amazonian rain- forest feature alongside Sondheim, Gershwin and Stravinsky, the New Yorker of The Rake’s Progress, in a veritable fiesta for the voice that shows its contempt for all the walls that some people would have built along the borders of her America.

This recital of show tunes and musical comedy numbers that have become famous through their jazz and pop covers, draws deep into the origins of American song but also revels in its present times. Nadine Sierra will be performing Stephen Foster, the “father of American music” but also André Previn’s songs to poems by Emily Dickinson. And there will be some very nice Bernstein too, eternally youthful music by that great centenarian-plus-one.

#WeArtGTG

All the GTG world. Here, there, everywhere.

Stay connected with the GTG

Nadine Sierra

Nadine Sierra © GTG Merri Cyr

Nadine Sierra

Soprano
Prix:
De CHF 17.- à 119.-
lun 14 oct 20:00
Nadine Sierra
«You Should Give Opera A Listen. It’s Different Than You May Think»

Nadine Sierra on WNPR
Infos pratiques
Programme
Présentation
Infos pratiques

Nadine sierra, soprano
Vincenzo Scalera,pianiste

Leonard Bernstein, George Gershwin, Heitor Villa-Lobos et autres

Durée : 1h45 avec un entracte de 25 minutes inclus

 

Avec le soutien de

FONDATION VRM

Programme

Charles Gounod (1818-1893)
Roméo et Juliette
Ah, je veux vivre

Gustave Charpentier (1860-1956)
Louise
Depuis le jour

Alan Jay Lerner (1918-1986) and Frederick Loewe (1901-1988)
My Fair Lady
I could have danced all night

George Gershwin (1898-1937)
Porgy & Bess
Summertime

Stephen Foster (1826–1864)
I dream of Jeannie with the light brown hair
Beautiful dreamer

Leonard Bernstein (1918-1990)
West Side Story
I Feel Pretty
Somewhere

Candid
Glitter and be Gay

– Entracte –

Gaetano Donizetti (1797-1848)
Don Pasquale
Quel guardo il cavaliere… so anch’io la virtù magica

Heitor Villa-Lobos (1887-1959)
Canções da Floresta do Amazonas
Melodia Sentimental

Ernani Braga (1888-1948)
Canções nordestinas do folclore brasileiro
Engehno novo!

Joaquín Rodrigo (1901-1999)
Cuatro madrigales amatorios
Con que la lavare
Vos me matastes
De donde venis amore
De los alamos vengo Madre

Gerónimo Giménez (1854-1923)
El barbero de Sevilla
Me llaman la primorosa

Présentation

Si vous croyiez que vous alliez commencer la saison de récitals du Grand Théâtre dans le ronronnement romantique d’un murmure de merveilleuses mélodies, détrompez-vous. Nous avons le plaisir d’accueillir notre public récitalier 2019-2020 avec un coup d’éclat transatlantique, sous la devise enthousiaste de Cunégonde : « Glitter and be gay! »
La gaieté étincelante, c’est définitivement l’affaire de Nadine Sierra. La jeune soprano native de la Floride, formée sous l’égide de la grande Marilyn Horne, a connu une ascension sidérale, passant de son pre- mier rôle lyrique (l’Orphée et Eurydice de Gluck) au Palm Beach Opera en 2011 à la scène du Metropolitan Opera l’an dernier en Susanna des Noces de Figaro, en cumulant dans l’intervalle représentations de gala et victoires aux concours, dont le plus prestigieux est sans doute le dernier en date, le Beverly Sills Artist Award décerné par le Met en 2018. Pour son premier album, paru également en 2018 chez Deutsche Grammophon, Nadine Sierra a préféré briller dans un répertoire moins précisément lyrique et plus conforme aux bijoux du répertoire de Broadway. There’s a Place for Us, avec le Royal Philharmonic Orchestra sous la baguette de Robert Spano, fait état du bonheur qu’elle trouve à interpréter le répertoire américain, autant dans ses aspects étasuniens que latino. Les Fleurs de l’Amazonie de Villa-Lobos y côtoient Sondheim, Gershwin et le Stravinsky new-yorkais du Rake’s Progress dans une véritable fiesta de la voix qui se moque bien de tous les murs qu’on prétend ériger sur les frontières de ses Amériques.
Ce récital de show tunes et de numéros de comédie musicale devenus immortels dans le répertoire du jazz et du pop, puise dans les sources de la chanson américaine autant que dans sa contemporanéité: Nadine Sierra y interprétera du Stephen Foster, le chansonnier de la Guerre de Sécession, tout comme des pièces d’André Previn sur des poèmes d’Emily Dickinson. Et il y aura du Bernstein, du beau Bernstein, ce plus que centenaire à l’éternelle jeunesse d’un gamin des rues de Manhattan.

Médias

Médias

Écoutez Nadine Sierra sur

#WeArtGTG

Tout l’univers du GTG. Ici, là, partout.

Restez connecté avec le GTG