Natalie Dessay – Soprano

Natalie Dessay © Simon Fowler

Natalie Dessay

CANCELLED

Dear audience,

Following federal and cantonal directives relating to the fight against the spread of the Covid-19 virus, and in the impossibility of postponing the date, the Grand Théâtre de Genève is obliged to cancel Natalie Dessay’s recital on 26 April 2020.

Our season subscribers and ticket holders for this event will be contacted by email.

More infos

Natalie Dessay © Simon Fowler
«Le chant, pour moi, n’a toujours été qu’un moyen, pas une fin.»

Natalie Dessay, Paris Match
Infos & programm
About
Infos & programm

Natalie Dessay, soprano
Philippe Cassard, pianist

PROGRAMM
“Lonely souls and loving hearts”

Franz SCHUBERT (1797-1828)
Geheimes D. 719 (Goethe)
Nachtstück D.672 (Mayrhofer)
Liebesbotschaft D.957 (Rellstab)
Gretchen am Spinnrade D.118 (Goethe)

Johannes BRAHMS (1833-1897)
Intermezzo op.118 n°2

Hugo WOLF (1860-1903)
Begegnung (Mörike)
Bedeckt mich mit Blumen (Geibel)
Nimmersatte Liebe (Mörike)
Mignon “So lasst mich scheinen” (Goethe)
Erstes Liebeslied eines Mädchens” (Mörike)

– intermission –

Frédéric CHOPIN (1810-1849)
Concerto op.11 en mi mineur, extrait du 1er mouvement Maestoso (piano)

Vincenzo BELLINI (1801-1835)
“Ah ! Non credea mirarti”, extrait de La Somnambule

Jules MASSENET (1842-1912)
Nuit d’Espagne (Gallet)

Enrique GRANADOS (1867-1916)
“La Maja y el Ruisenor”

Albert ROUSSEL (1869-1937)
Le Bachelier de Salamanque

Maurice RAVEL (1875-1937)
Vocalise en forme de Habanera

Claude DEBUSSY (1862-1918)
La Soirée dans Grenade, pour piano

Léo DELIBES (1836-1891)
Chanson Espagnole (Les filles de Cadix, Musset)

 

Sponsored by

FONDATION VRM

About

Natalie Dessay’s kaleidoscopic career goes on apace, six years after her farewell to the opera stage. Between her raved-at appearances in the theatre, her sparkling wit in French television talk shows and her brilliant incursions in the world of musical comedy, the French soprano still has time for what is known as serious music, if such a term could at all apply to an art- ist known for the sheer, unadulterated joy she gets from singing. A veritable living legend of the opera stage, Natalie Dessay can be proud to have had the distinction of being the French coloratura soprano par excellence for over twenty years, from her début at the Paris Opera in The Tales of Hoffmann in 1992, to her last bow as Manon on the stage of the Capitole in Toulouse in 2013. Geneva audiences cherish the memories of her appearances at the Grand Théâtre during those glory years: as Adele in Die Fledermaus and Manon, of course, but unforgettably Ophelia to Simon Keenlyside’s Hamlet in the Caurier & Leiser staging of Ambroise Thomas’ opera.

On the playlist, we are expecting accents of love, which Natalie Dessay and Philippe Cassard have selected from the tearful store of the unlucky lovers that were Franz Schubert and Hugo Wolf, as well as some fittingly flaming numbers evoking romantic Spain, mostly seen from the other side of the Pyrenees by French composers spicing up their compositions with a bit of bravura. We have also been promised a blast from the past in the shape of Bellini’s La Sonnambula.

Philippe Cassard, another multi-talented artist, is not only one of the greatest performers of Debussy, but is also admired for his skills as a producer and radio show host, his commitment to the living musical arts and his bold choices as a festival director. Natalie Dessay and Philippe Cassard are long- time recital partners and have undertaken various Debussy-related projects together, amongst which a recording of four unpublished songs written in the composer’s youth and his cantata La Damoiselle élue. In 2017, the pair went back to the recording studio to produce Natalie Dessay’s first ever album of German music, entirely dedicated to the lieder of Franz Schubert, some of which had never before been performed by a woman’s voice. Philippe Cassard regularly gives masterclasses at the Tibor Varga Academy in Sion in Switzerland and is frequently on the jury of the Geneva International Music Competition.

#WeArtGTG

All the GTG world. Here, there, everywhere.

Stay connected with the GTG

Natalie Dessay

Natalie Dessay © Simon Fowler

Natalie Dessay

ANNULÉ

Cher public,

Suite aux directives fédérales et cantonales relatives à la lutte contre la propagation du virus Covid-19, et dans l’impossibilité d’un report de date, le Grand Théâtre de Genève se voit dans l’obligation d’annuler le récital de Natalie Dessay du 26 avril 2020.

Nos abonné·e·s ainsi que les détentrices et détenteurs de billets pour cet évènement seront contacté·e·s par email.

Plus d’infos

Natalie Dessay © Simon Fowler
«Le chant, pour moi, n’a toujours été qu’un moyen, pas une fin.»

Natalie Dessay dans Paris Match
Infos et programme
Présentation
Infos et programme

Natalie Dessay, soprano
Philippe Cassard, piano

PROGRAMME
« Âmes solitaires et coeurs amoureux »

Franz SCHUBERT (1797-1828)
Geheimes D. 719 (Goethe)
Nachtstück D.672 (Mayrhofer)
Liebesbotschaft D.957 (Rellstab)
Gretchen am Spinnrade D.118 (Goethe)

Johannes BRAHMS (1833-1897)
Intermezzo op.118 n°2

Hugo WOLF (1860-1903)
Begegnung (Mörike)
Bedeckt mich mit Blumen (Geibel)
Nimmersatte Liebe (Mörike)
Mignon « So lasst mich scheinen » (Goethe)
Erstes Liebeslied eines Mädchens » (Mörike)

– entracte –

Frédéric CHOPIN (1810-1849)
Concerto op.11 en mi mineur, extrait du 1er mouvement Maestoso (piano)

Vincenzo BELLINI (1801-1835)
« Ah ! Non credea mirarti », extrait de La Somnambule

Jules MASSENET (1842-1912)
Nuit d’Espagne (Gallet)

Enrique GRANADOS (1867-1916)
« La Maja y el Ruisenor »

Albert ROUSSEL (1869-1937)
Le Bachelier de Salamanque

Maurice RAVEL (1875-1937)
Vocalise en forme de Habanera

Claude DEBUSSY (1862-1918)
La Soirée dans Grenade, pour piano

Léo DELIBES (1836-1891)
Chanson Espagnole (Les filles de Cadix, Musset)

 

Avec le soutien de

FONDATION VRM

Présentation

La carrière kaléidoscopique de Natalie Dessay se poursuit avec brio, six ans après ses adieux à la scène lyrique. Entre ses prestations théâtrales à succès, la verve de ses apparitions sur les plateaux télé et ses vi- rées dans le monde de la comédie musicale, la soprano française ne renonce pas pour autant à la musique dite sérieuse, si tant est qu’une artiste animée par une telle joie de chanter puisse en faire. Véritable légende vivante de l’art lyrique international, Natalie Dessay peut s’enorgueillir d’avoir été LA soprano colorature française pendant plus de vingt années, depuis ses débuts à l’opéra dans Les Contes d’Hoffmann en 1992 jusqu’à son dernier salut en Manon au Capitole de Toulouse en 2013. De cette période faste, le public genevois chérit le souvenir de ses passages sur la scène de Neuve en Adèle, en Manon, et surtout en inoubliable Ophélie aux côtés de Simon Keenlyside en Hamlet dans la mise en scène de Patrice Caurier & Moshe Leiser.
Le programme annonce des accents amoureux, que Natalie Dessay et Philippe Cassard ont choisi entre la tristesse des amants malheureux qu’ont été Franz Schubert et Hugo Wolf, et les cœurs enflammés d’une Espagne romantique, vue surtout d’en-deçà des Pyrénées. Un petit come-back en forme de Sonnambula nous est aussi promis.
Autre artiste multitalentueux, Philippe Cassard est non seulement l’un des plus grands interprètes de Debussy mais on admire également ses talents de producteur et présentateur radiophonique, son engagement pour la musique vivante, ses choix audacieux de directeur de festivals. Natalie Dessay et Philippe Cassard sont partenaires de récital de longue date et ont mené ensemble plusieurs projets liés à la musique de Claude Debussy, dont un enregistrement de quatre mélodies de jeunesse inédites et la cantate La Damoiselle élue. Plus récemment, en 2017, les artistes ont réalisé ensemble le premier album de mélodies allemandes de Natalie Dessay, entièrement dédié aux lieds de Schubert (dont certains n’avaient jamais été interprétés par une voix féminine). Philippe Cassard dispense, en outre, des classes de maître à l’Académie Tibor-Varga de Sion et figure régulièrement au jury du Concours de Genève.

#WeArtGTG

Tout l’univers du GTG. Ici, là, partout.

Restez connecté avec le GTG