La Cenerentola by Gioacchino Rossini

La Cenerentola

La Cenerentola

Dramma giocoso by Gioacchino Rossini

Dear audience,

Following federal and cantonal directives relating to the fight against the spread of the Covid-19 virus the Grand Théâtre de Genève is obliged to cancel  La Cenerentola (Cinderella), May 4-20, 2020

Our season subscribers and ticket holders for these events will be contacted by email.

More infos

La Cenerentola
Une autre que Cendrillon les aurait coëffées de travers ; mais elle estoit bonne, et elle les coëffa parfaitement bien.

Charles Perrault
« Cendrillon »
Histoires ou Contes du temps passé (1697)
Infos
Cast
About
Infos
La Cenerentola

Dramma giocoso by Gioacchino Rossini
Libretto by Jacopo Ferretti after Charles Perrault
First performed in Rome in 1817
Last time at the Grand Théâtre de Genève 2007-2008

In coproduction with De Nationale Opera Amsterdam and the Santa Fe Opera

Sung in italian with french and english subtitles

 

Sponsored by

Cast

Musical Director Stefano Montanari
Musical Director and costumes designer Laurent Pelly
Scenographer Chantal Thomas
Lighting Designer Duane Schuler
Choir director Alan Woodbridge

Angelina Anna Goryachova
Don Ramiro Edgardo Rocha
Dandini Riccardo Novaro
Don Magnifico Carlo Lepore
Clorinda Claire de Sévigné
Tisbe Héloïse Mas
Alidoro Simone Alberghini

Orchestre de la Suisse Romande
Grand Théâtre de Genève Chorus

About

Like most of Gioacchino Rossini’s greatest hits, La Cenerentola was composed in record time and wasn’t even planned to be a masterpiece. A topic for a new opera was needed, someone suggested “Cinderella” and Rossini, who was dead tired, woke up briefly to assent, and then went back to sleep. You could say that La Cenerentola was conceived in a dream. Rossini did however demand of his librettist Jacopo Ferretti that he rid Perrault’s famous Mother Goose story of all its fantastical fairy stuff and be more realistic. So no pumpkin coach for this Cinderella, who is bullied not by a stepmother but her stepfather, the pompous Don Magnifico, and receives help, not from a fairy godmother but a wise old philosopher named Alidoro. As for the glass slipper, it is replaced by a bracelet.

Rossini’s opera distances itself from Perrault’s fairy tale by its realism and the moral lesson it imparts, that goodness will triumph over all ad- versity. But French stage director Laurent Pelly, now on the third Rossini production of his career, is keen to put some of the magic it deserves back into this Cinderella. He plans to stagecraft an extra layer of dreamworld when the Prince Don Ramiro appears in the rather humdrum everyday life of Don Magnifico’s house. With this flight of fancy, the director reveals the unavowed ambitions of each character that transform the appearance of the world around them.

Laurent Pelly freely admits that he finds the extravagance he’s looking for in Rossini’s madcap, ebullient, fanciful music. The director is known to Grand Théâtre audiences for his finely honed sense of comedy (Viva la Mamma, Le Médecin malgré lui, to quote some recent productions) but he is very clear that without a keen awareness of the inherent sadness of existence, nothing can be truly funny. He sees in the solitary and outcast figure of Angelina, the shades of melancholy that define real burlesque. Perhaps this incarnation of Cinderella is a tad naive, but what defines her is her wholehearted opposition to the meanness around her through goodness alone. If there is one opera that give us hope to resist what draws us down and the unabashed nastiness of our virtual and physical worlds, if there is only one opera heroine to teach us simply to be kind, it must be Angelina, our Cenerentola.

Conductor Stefano Montanari, a Baroque violinist with the look of a heavy metal rocker, hails from Ravenna, not that far from Rossini’s native Pesaro. He will lead the Orchestre de la Suisse Romande through this dramma giocoso’s head-spinning ensembles and throat-busting coloraturas. And in the title role, a bel canto diva with many virtuoso performances at the Pesaro Opera Festival (Bayreuth for Rossinians…) under her belt, Russian mezzo-soprano Anna Goryachova.

La Cenerentola at La Plage

Electric Dreams
Electric Dreams
22-26 APR 2020 – CANCELLED
Am Stram Gram
Conference about the Work
29 APR 2020 18:15 – CANCELLED
Alberto Mattioli presents La Cenerentola. In collaboration with the Association genevoise des amis de l’opéra et du ballet.
Apéropera
Apéropéra
7 MAY 2020 18:30 – CANCELLED
Foyer GTG
Voilà voilà
Voilà voilà
8 MAY 2020 at the end of the show – CANCELLED
Foyer GTG
Coulisses © GTG / Samuel Rubio
En coulisse
10 MAY 2020 – CANCELLED
Backstage
Intropéra
Intropéra
45 minutes before the show – CANCELLED
Foyer GTG
Cenerentolina
Cenerentolina
12-19 DEC 2019 – CANCELLED
Foyer GTG

#WeArtGTG

All the GTG world. Here, there, everywhere.

Stay connected with the GTG

La Cenerentola

La Cenerentola

La Cenerentola

Dramma giocoso de Gioacchino Rossini
Prix:
De CHF 17.- à 294.-
lun 4 mai 19:30
mer 6 mai 19:30
ven 8 mai 19:30
dim 10 mai 15:00
mar 12 mai 19:30
jeu 14 mai 19:30
sam 16 mai 19:30
lun 18 mai 19:30
mer 20 mai 19:30
La Cenerentola
Une autre que Cendrillon les aurait coëffées de travers ; mais elle estoit bonne, et elle les coëffa parfaitement bien.

Charles Perrault
« Cendrillon »
Histoires ou Contes du temps passé (1697)
Infos pratiques
Distribution
Œuvre
Infos pratiques
Cendrillon

Dramma giocoso de Gioacchino Rossini
Livret de Jacopo Ferretti d’après le conte de Charles Perrault Créé à Rome en 1817
Dernière fois au Grand Théâtre de Genève 2007-2008

En coproduction avec De Nationale Opera Amsterdam et le Santa Fe Opera

Chanté en italien avec surtitres en français et anglais

 

Avec le soutien de

Distribution

Direction musicale Stefano Montanari
Mise en scène et costumes Laurent Pelly
Scénographie Chantal Thomas
Lumières Duane Schuler
Direction des chœurs Alan Woodbridge

Angelina Anna Goryachova
Don Ramiro Edgardo Rocha
Dandini Riccardo Novaro
Don Magnifico Carlo Lepore
Clorinda Claire de Sévigné
Tisbe Héloïse Mas
Alidoro Simone Alberghini

Orchestre de la Suisse Romande
Chœur du Grand Théâtre de Genève

Œuvre

La Cenerentola fut composée, comme presque tous les grands succès de Gioacchino Rossini, en un temps record et n’était pas l’effet d’une ambition particulière. Il fallait un sujet, quelqu’un a dit « Cendrillon » et Rossini, qui tombait de sommeil, manifesta son accord avant de s’endormir tout à fait. On pourrait dire que cette Cenerentola a été conçue dans un rêve. Rossini n’hésite cependant pas à exiger de Jacopo Ferretti, son librettiste, qu’il introduise un certain réalisme dans le célèbre conte de Charles Perrault, à la place des éléments magiques et féériques. Point de carrosse-citrouille, donc. Cendrillon, brimée par le personnage falot de son beau-père Don Magnifico — et non plus une méchante marâtre — sera aidée par un sage philosophe, Alidoro — et non plus une marraine-fée. Et la pantoufle de vair disparaît au profit d’un bracelet identificateur.
L’opéra de Rossini se détache du conte de fées de Perrault en devenant donc un récit réaliste et moral, destiné à prouver que la bonté finit par triompher de toutes les épreuves. Le metteur en scène français Laurent Pelly, qui se lance pour la troisième fois de sa carrière dans une partition rossinienne, tient pourtant à rendre sa part de magie légitime à cette Cendrillon. Il le fera en imposant au quotidien assez banal de la maison de Don Magnifico, dès l’apparition du du prince Don Ramiro dans leurs vies, une part de folie onirique où les ambitions inavouables de chaque personnage viennent déformer les apparences de leur univers.
C’est dans la musique de Rossini, farfelue, décoiffante, rêveuse, que Laurent Pelly trouve la folie de l’œuvre. Celui qui a régalé le public genevois de tant de productions impayables et inoubliables comme Viva la Mamma! ou La Grande-Duchesse de Gérolstein, trouve dans le personnage solitaire et marginalisé d’Angelina, la nuance mélancolique qui définit le véritable burlesque. Pour Laurent Pelly, cette Cendrillon est certes un peu naïve mais c’est ainsi qu’elle s’oppose à la mesquinerie qui l’entoure par la fermeté de son bon cœur. S’il est un cas où le théâtre est porteur d’un espoir d’aller à l’encontre de ce qui nous tire vers le bas, de la méchanceté décomplexée des places réelles et virtuelles de notre temps, s’il en est une qui nous apprend tout simplement à être bons, c’est bien Angelina, notre Cenerentola.
Le chef d’orchestre italien Stefano Montanari, violoniste baroque à la dégaine de rocker heavy metal, vient du pays de Ravenne, pas si loin du Pesaro natal de Rossini. Il conduira l’Orchestre de la Suisse Romande à travers les délirants ensembles et les coloratures casse-cou de ce dramma giocoso. Avec une Anna Goryachova comme protagoniste, une virtuose du bel canto, confirmée maintes fois au Rossini Opera Festival di Pesaro, le Bayreuth des rossiniens.

Cendrillon à La Plage

Cenerentolina
Cenerentolina, opéra pour enfants
12-19 décembre 2019
Foyer du GTG
Electric Dreams
Electric Dreams, opéra pour familles
22-26 avril 2020
Am Stram Gram
Apéropera
Apéropéra
7 mai 2020 18h30
Foyer du GTG
Voilà voilà
Voilà voilà
8 mai 2020 à l’issue de la représentation
Foyer du GTG
Coulisses © GTG / Samuel Rubio
En coulisse
10 mai 2020
En coulisse à l’issue de la représentation
Intropéra
Intropéra
45 minutes avant chaque spectacle
Foyer du GTG

#WeArtGTG

Tout l’univers du GTG. Ici, là, partout.

Restez connecté avec le GTG